The Western Union Global Scholars Program still exists, but the old public US$2,500 application described on many scholarship sites is not the current process. As of August 16, 2026, the official Institute of International Education (IIE) page displays the completed 2025–26 cycle and has not published a 2026–27 or 2027 nomination deadline.

This guide explains the latest verified eligibility, nomination process, historical deadlines and the safest way to watch for a future Western Union Foundation scholarship cycle.

Western Union Global Scholars status at a glance

Item Latest official information
Program administrator Institute of International Education (IIE), working with the Western Union Foundation
Latest cycle displayed Academic year 2025–26
Latest institutional nomination deadline May 15, 2025 — closed
Latest invited-student application deadline June 16, 2025 — closed
2026–27 or 2027 deadline Not published on the official IIE program page
How students enter University nomination first; invited application second
Direct public application Not offered under the latest verified process
Current award amount Not stated on the current IIE page; do not assume the historical US$2,500 amount

Use the official IIE Western Union Global Scholars page as the source of truth. It identifies IIE as the scholarship administrator and explains the nomination route.

See also  19 Undergraduate Scholarships for Food & Nutrition Students 

Is the Western Union scholarship open now?

No current open round is confirmed. The live IIE page still lists the 2025 deadlines, both of which have passed. It does not state that applications are open for 2026–27 or 2027, and it does not provide a new closing date.

This does not prove that the scholarship has permanently ended. It means applicants should wait for IIE or the Western Union Foundation to publish a new cycle rather than treating a repeated annual date on a third-party page as official.

Latest verified eligibility

For the latest cycle displayed by IIE, a nominated student had to satisfy all of the following conditions:

  • Be an international student, meaning the student was not a citizen or permanent resident of the country where they were studying.
  • Be in the penultimate or final year of an undergraduate degree.
  • Be enrolled full time in a bachelor’s program for the coming academic year or the equivalent period in another semester system.
  • Study at an accredited post-secondary institution in an eligible destination.
  • Be selected and nominated by an administrator at their institution.

Eligible study destinations in the latest cycle

IIE listed accredited institutions in Australia, Canada, Europe, Japan, New Zealand, Singapore, the United Kingdom and the United States. A student’s nationality alone was not enough; the program focused on international students already studying in one of the eligible destinations.

What happened to the old age and subject rules?

The original public WU Scholars rounds emphasized ages 18–26 and study in STEM, business or entrepreneurship. Those rules appear in older Western Union announcements and scholarship databases. The current IIE page instead emphasizes international status, full-time undergraduate enrolment, eligible study destinations and being in the final two years of a degree. Applicants should follow the requirements published for the next official cycle, if one opens.

See also  21 Best Construction Management Schools 2027

How the university nomination process works

  1. A university identifies candidates. In the latest process, an accredited institution could nominate up to five international students who most needed help meeting education and living costs.
  2. An administrator submits nominations. The nominator ranks candidates and explains their challenges, achievements, campus leadership and motivation.
  3. IIE contacts nominated students. A nomination is not the final application. IIE sends selected nominees an invitation and instructions for completing the student application.
  4. The student submits the invited application. The applicant follows the IIE portal instructions and the deadline stated in the invitation.
  5. IIE and the Foundation select recipients. A nomination or application does not guarantee an award.

Students cannot accurately reproduce this process by submitting an old public form. If a new round opens, contact your international-student office, financial-aid office or scholarship office early and ask whether the institution will participate.

How much is the Western Union scholarship?

Do not advertise US$2,500 as the current award without a new official announcement. Western Union’s 2019 program announcement confirms that recipients in that historical direct-application round received US$2,500 toward tuition or school fees. The program later changed.

The latest IIE page does not publish an award amount. It says institutions should nominate international students who need help covering tuition and fees, books, health insurance, housing and other living expenses. That wording describes the needs considered; it is not a promise that one award pays every listed expense.

What the current program is designed to support

The Western Union Foundation and IIE describe Global Scholars as an initiative for international students from low-income communities who are trying to complete higher education. Western Union reported that 70 international and immigrant students received scholarships during the 2024–25 school year. A February 2025 official scholar profile shows the program continuing to support a final-year international undergraduate.

That evidence confirms recent program activity, but it does not create a public application or a 2027 deadline.

What to prepare before a future nomination

IIE has not published a document checklist for a future round, so wait for the actual invitation before treating any item as mandatory. The following preparation can help a university evaluate whether to nominate you:

See also  Biomimicry Institute Ray of Hope Accelerator 2027 ($15,000 in non-dilutive funding)
Preparation item Why it may help
Proof of current full-time enrolment Shows undergraduate status and expected graduation timing
Transcript or academic record Documents progress and standing
Short financial-need explanation Explains the gap threatening degree completion
Current budget and unpaid costs Separates tuition, fees, books, insurance, housing and living expenses
Leadership and service examples Gives the institutional nominator specific evidence to discuss
Academic and career goals Shows why completing the degree matters
Reliable personal email address Reduces the chance of missing an IIE invitation in a university spam filter

How to monitor the next cycle safely

  1. Bookmark the official IIE program page.
  2. Ask the international-student or scholarship office whether it has received a Western Union Global Scholars nomination invitation.
  3. Use only a deadline published by IIE, the Western Union Foundation or your verified university office.
  4. Check spam and quarantine folders if your university says it nominated you.
  5. Never pay an application fee to a third party claiming it can secure a nomination.

IIE lists [email protected] for questions about the program and nomination process. Verify the address on the official page before sending personal information.

Outdated information to ignore

  • An April 30, 2026 deadline copied from the April 30, 2019 public round
  • A direct CyberGrants application presented as current
  • An automatic US$2,500 award claim with no current IIE confirmation
  • The statement that any 18–26-year-old worldwide can apply independently
  • “Apply now” buttons that do not lead to IIE, Western Union or a verified participating university

The old dates and rules are part of the program’s history, not evidence of an open 2026 or 2027 competition.

Other verified scholarship routes

If you need funding now, do not wait for an unannounced cycle. Compare the current options in our guide to fully funded and full-need scholarships in the USA. Graduate applicants can also review the Fulbright Foreign Student Program process, whose eligibility and deadlines are managed by country offices.

Frequently asked questions

Is the Western Union Global Scholars Program open for 2027?

No 2027 round is published on the official IIE page. The latest displayed cycle is 2025–26, and its May 15, 2025 nomination deadline and June 16, 2025 student deadline have passed.

Can I apply directly without a university nomination?

Not under the latest verified process. A university administrator first nominates the student, and IIE then contacts the nominee with an invitation to complete an application.

Is the current Western Union scholarship worth US$2,500?

The US$2,500 amount is verified for older public WU Scholars rounds, including 2019. The current IIE program page does not state an award amount, so applicants should not assume that historical value applies to a future cycle.

Who could be nominated in the latest cycle?

Eligible nominees were full-time international undergraduates in the penultimate or final year of study at accredited institutions in the listed destination regions.

How many students can one university nominate?

IIE’s latest instructions allowed an institution to nominate up to five students and asked the nominator to rank them.

What is the next Western Union scholarship deadline?

No new official deadline is available. Monitor IIE’s program page and your university’s international or scholarship office.

Is Project Finish Line accepting nominations?

The IIE page states that it is not currently accepting new Project Finish Line nominations. It lists a program email for institutions interested in future nomination information.

Bottom line

The Western Union Global Scholars Program is a real, recently active scholarship initiative, but the advertised 2026 direct US$2,500 application is not supported by current official evidence. The latest verified route is institutional nomination followed by an IIE invitation, and the latest published 2025 deadlines are closed. Prepare your records, speak with your university and rely on the official IIE page for any future 2026–27 or 2027 announcement.